Match Report – AOGS v St George’s Hill GC 2017

Report for AOGS v St George’s Hill Golf Club, September 27 2017

Wednesday saw the members of AOGS hosting the return fixture of the Society versus St George’s Hill Golf Club (SGH) at Hindhead. This fixture was first held last year at St. George’s Hill, the club winning on that occasion. Both the AOGS and SGH were both formed in 1913 and our President commissioned the 1913 trophy to be played for annually at the fixture. Irrespective of the winner, the trophy remains at SGH, however, as the Club had won the inaugural fixture, Mark formally handed over the trophy for last year and presented Mike Johnson-Hill with a wall plaque for the SGH clubhouse.

The fixture was being played as eighteen holes of fourball better ball preceded by lunch. Our lunch was a convivial affair and speeches, thankfully brief. We found the course in great condition despite some preparations being underway to ‘put the course to bed’ for the winter. A sufficiently stiff breeze to make club selection tricky built up as the round progressed and the end of the round saw a liberal sprinkling of rain.

The match was very tight with the majority of games still being live until the eighteenth. Sadly, AOGS came out on the wrong side of most of them with the overall result being 3½ to 1½ in favour of the Club.




St George’s Hill GC

John MacLean & Hamish Miln ½ Steve Pezzack & Marcus Pakenham ½
Iain Campbell & Richard Dennis 1 Andrew Strong & Phil Darling 0
David (Doc) Watson v David Griffiths 0 Mike Johnson Hill & Peter Wise 1
John Saville & Frank Ham 0 Marc Daniel & Peter Newman 1
Mirza Datoo & Mark Lacey 0 Stuart Letts & Alistair Defriez 1

Match Result: AOGS 1½ SGHGC 3½